LAWTF empowers women artists to engage and inspire through multidisciplinary solo performances.

Los Angeles Women’s Theatre Festival was Co-Founded in 1993 by Adilah Barnes and Miriam Reed with Danny Glover and Hattie Winston serving as Honorary Chairs since 1998 and 1999, respectively.

LAWTF has produced over 600 solo artists of excellence from around the globe.

LAWTF has bestowed well over 100 honorees with our Annual Theatre Awards to deserving women in theatre, including 2022: Olympia Dukakis (Infinity Award, posthumously), Chita Rivera (Eternity Award), Iona Morris (Integrity Award), Terrie Silverman (Rainbow Award), and Kristina Wong (Maverick Award).

LAWTF offers outreach educational programs for youth and adults using art to creatively develop voices through self-expression. We have touched the lives of over 3,000 youth in schools.
LAWTF’s other outreach programs have served ex-offender women, senior citizens, and libraries.